Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 51
  1. #1
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    Southern California
    2doorrocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    447

    2016 acr - do not plug in the amp!

    If you have an ACR, not a 1 of 1 ACR, an ACR or ACR Extreme and you plug in the AMP, somewhere there is a bridge tap and you will get ridiculous feedback and damage the radio.
    Current Vehicles: 14' Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT | 16' Dodge Viper ACR Extreme | 16' Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' GMC Sierra Denali Ultimate + Whipple 2.9L + ARH + HFC + Magnaflow 4" + K&N.

  2. #2
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    NY/CT
    Boba Fett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    845
    warranty time

  3. #3
    VOA Member
    since 2013
    Southern California
    Space Truckin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    1,096
    This is not warranty, more like installer error.......
    Steve 1 of the #100's
    16 ACR E/ 1 of 1 "Bad MFr" - Billet Silver/ Black & Red w CF int./ ext.
    ARH Headers, Arrow PCM, VE Tractive Suspension

  4. #4
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    Southern California
    2doorrocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by Space Truckin View Post
    This is not warranty, more like installer error.......
    I don't see how it's installer error? Everything plugs in a certain way. You can't get it wrong. They've done something to power the 3 speakers. There is a harness tap somewhere to get the radio to power the speakers directly. That loop caused the issue.
    Current Vehicles: 14' Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT | 16' Dodge Viper ACR Extreme | 16' Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' GMC Sierra Denali Ultimate + Whipple 2.9L + ARH + HFC + Magnaflow 4" + K&N.

  5. #5
    Can someone post up a pic of their battery from a 2016 with the 18 speaker system please? There is a wiring coming off the positive terminal actually labeled radio and I want to see if all have that wire.

  6. #6
    How are you going to explain this to your dealer? Which leads me to my next question, if you spill the beans (moral), can you get the proper procedure out of them?

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by 2doorrocket View Post
    I don't see how it's installer error? Everything plugs in a certain way. You can't get it wrong. They've done something to power the 3 speakers. There is a harness tap somewhere to get the radio to power the speakers directly. That loop caused the issue.
    I doubt there is a jumper. I was under the impression the speakers are operated on the Bluetooth side of the system which is run through the radio. I would venture a bet it's a programming issue that caused the back feed

  8. #8
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    Southern California
    2doorrocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by ACR View Post
    How are you going to explain this to your dealer? Which leads me to my next question, if you spill the beans (moral), can you get the proper procedure out of them?
    The dealer is well aware of the issue, I went straight to them and the radio got further messed up infant of their Viper tech. We reached out to a field engineer, given that Chrysler provided me with the speakers and the AMP. We are going to work through the issue and figure it out. I've been looking through all the wiring diagrams, the harness has to be tapped somewhere, it's not at the connector behind the head unit, and it's not at the trunk where the AMP is. So it's tapped somewhere.
    Current Vehicles: 14' Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT | 16' Dodge Viper ACR Extreme | 16' Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' GMC Sierra Denali Ultimate + Whipple 2.9L + ARH + HFC + Magnaflow 4" + K&N.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by 2doorrocket View Post
    The dealer is well aware of the issue, I went straight to them and the radio got further messed up infant of their Viper tech. We reached out to a field engineer, given that Chrysler provided me with the speakers and the AMP. We are going to work through the issue and figure it out. I've been looking through all the wiring diagrams, the harness has to be tapped somewhere, it's not at the connector behind the head unit, and it's not at the trunk where the AMP is. So it's tapped somewhere.
    Thank you for providing the feedback to all of us. Hopefully you get this resolved in a timely manner. Patiently waiting to hear more on this as I intended to get this installed as well. All the best

  10. #10
    Tech Team
    Dan Cragin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Santa Monica Ca
    Posts
    407
    I have had the same issue. There is a hard wire change on the ACR radio, appears they have altered to standard wiring to use the dash speakers only. To run the standard or additional speaker system you will need to make a wiring change and get the software upgrade, which is not available from Mopar at this time.

    Dan
    specialtyperformanceteam.com
    310-597-6295

  11. #11
    You can see there is a jumper in the IP harness in the wiring diagrams... look under "AUDIO SYSTEM - BASE"... compare to the "AUDIO SYSTEM - PREMIUM"... Must be a jumper on that harness to turn on the three speaker setup versus the external amp.

  12. #12
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    Southern California
    2doorrocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by roadrunner View Post
    You can see there is a jumper in the IP harness in the wiring diagrams... look under "AUDIO SYSTEM - BASE"... compare to the "AUDIO SYSTEM - PREMIUM"... Must be a jumper on that harness to turn on the three speaker setup versus the external amp.
    Wait. What. Where is that jumper? Where do you see it?
    Current Vehicles: 14' Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT | 16' Dodge Viper ACR Extreme | 16' Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' GMC Sierra Denali Ultimate + Whipple 2.9L + ARH + HFC + Magnaflow 4" + K&N.

  13. #13
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    Southern California
    2doorrocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by roadrunner View Post
    You can see there is a jumper in the IP harness in the wiring diagrams... look under "AUDIO SYSTEM - BASE"... compare to the "AUDIO SYSTEM - PREMIUM"... Must be a jumper on that harness to turn on the three speaker setup versus the external amp.
    But from what I understand of this diagram is that this jumper does not explain where the tap is. In essence the line out of the radio must be tapped somewhere to make this work.
    Current Vehicles: 14' Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT | 16' Dodge Viper ACR Extreme | 16' Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' GMC Sierra Denali Ultimate + Whipple 2.9L + ARH + HFC + Magnaflow 4" + K&N.

  14. #14
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Minnesota
    ACRucrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3,151
    I was going to say, most vehicles will have a jumper plug located somewhere. It's easier/cheaper to do that than have different body harnesses.
    2009 SSG ACR Hardcore 1 of 1 before it was cool
    2017 SSG ACR-eXtreme 1 of 1 after it was cool

    Member #111

  15. #15
    Found it... near the steering column under the dash... even has a label that says "Full Audio". Still doesn't fix the electronic configuration, but it sends the headunit speaker outputs to the amp only, and the amplifier output to the speakers only... so we are closer.Jumper Pic.jpg

  16. #16
    Road runner rocks

  17. #17
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    Southern California
    2doorrocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by roadrunner View Post
    found it... Near the steering column under the dash... Even has a label that says "full audio". Still doesn't fix the electronic configuration, but it sends the headunit speaker outputs to the amp only, and the amplifier output to the speakers only... So we are closer.Jumper Pic.jpg
    hero! now all i gotta do is get a new head unit.
    Last edited by 2doorrocket; 12-14-2015 at 03:42 PM.
    Current Vehicles: 14' Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT | 16' Dodge Viper ACR Extreme | 16' Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' GMC Sierra Denali Ultimate + Whipple 2.9L + ARH + HFC + Magnaflow 4" + K&N.

  18. #18
    VOA Member
    since 2014
    North Texas
    Junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    867
    About to order an ACR-E, would like to go the ACR route vs 1 of 1 but really wanting the 18 speaker setup. Do you guys have faith that this is a route that is going to actually work out?
    -2016 ACR-E, Nth Moto TT setup, 1200+whp street cruiser

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by 2doorrocket View Post
    hero! now all i gotta do is get a new head unit.
    2doorrocket, I sent you an message, check when you get a moment.

  20. #20
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    Southern California
    2doorrocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by ACRJUD View Post
    2doorrocket, I sent you an message, check when you get a moment.
    I didn't get it
    Current Vehicles: 14' Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT | 16' Dodge Viper ACR Extreme | 16' Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' GMC Sierra Denali Ultimate + Whipple 2.9L + ARH + HFC + Magnaflow 4" + K&N.

  21. #21
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    Southern California
    2doorrocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by Junkie View Post
    About to order an ACR-E, would like to go the ACR route vs 1 of 1 but really wanting the 18 speaker setup. Do you guys have faith that this is a route that is going to actually work out?
    It costs the same to go 1 of 1 of to go this route considering parts and hassle. Just get 1 of 1.
    Current Vehicles: 14' Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT | 16' Dodge Viper ACR Extreme | 16' Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat + Eibach Pro-Kit | 16' GMC Sierra Denali Ultimate + Whipple 2.9L + ARH + HFC + Magnaflow 4" + K&N.

  22. #22
    It's worth the hassle if you cannot order the combo you want as a 1 of 1.

  23. #23
    Quote Originally Posted by 2doorrocket View Post
    I didn't get it
    I got yours and responded. If you dont get it again just soot me an email.
    Thanks,
    Jud

  24. #24
    VOA Member
    since 2014
    North Texas
    Junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    867
    1 of 1 doesn't seem like the route I want to go. Its titled and sold as a Viper GT vs an ACR, which I have a feeling will effect resale value. Looks like the best route for nice audio is aftermarket in this case.
    -2016 ACR-E, Nth Moto TT setup, 1200+whp street cruiser

  25. #25
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2015
    Central North Florida
    cpinfdp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    136
    I thought you could order a true ACR with the Laguna Seca interior? and get the 18 speaker system installed. Probably a question for Courtney or one of the VE guys.
    2016 GT - GTS-R Blue, Black SW II wheels


 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •