Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2017
    Houston

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    824

    Throttle relearn with Arrow PCM

    Bought a used Arrow PCM and got it programmed from prefix already. Been reading online of a throttle relearn procedure but it doesnt seem to be working. Is this something only the dealer can do? I did the procedure twice and the various cells for Throttle position are still there. I havent driven the car but I'm able to rev the car fine.

    Turn ignition to ON position, not starting the engine
    Press gas pedal all the way down and hold
    Turn off ignition then let go of gas pedal
    2013 RaceYellow/Black GTS Laguna
    2015 Mustang GT Premium Perf Pack

  2. #2
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2017
    Houston

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    824
    actually did it about 3-5 more times the CEL is gone, car is idling around 750 rpm with it hunting a little. What is the typical idle rpm again?
    2013 RaceYellow/Black GTS Laguna
    2015 Mustang GT Premium Perf Pack

  3. #3
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2015
    Arizona
    Arizona Vipers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Paradise Valley
    Posts
    3,541
    I had to do the throttle relearn and only the dealer could do it. They have some tool that needs to be used
    2013 caged 803whp 9.0 liter, 2016 ACR, 1996 GTS, 2001 RT/10, 2003 SRT/10, 2018 McLaren 720s, 2020 G63, 2005 Ford GT, 2019 Megacab Dually

  4. #4
    VOA Mamba Member
    Illinois (IL/WI & Other)
    ViperGTS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    SW FL + elsewhere
    Posts
    537
    DRB-III was needed for my 2008.
    2008 Venom red SRT-10 | 2002 FE GTS
    2010 SRT-8 Jeep | WW2 Willys Jeep

  5. #5
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by ForTehNguyen View Post
    actually did it about 3-5 more times the CEL is gone, car is idling around 750 rpm with it hunting a little. What is the typical idle rpm again?
    my car's idle hunts and surges and bucks at low revs and sounds like its cammed at idle, I hope my problem is also due to a throttle relearn. With that said, when I sent my car to the bodyshop and it sat there for about 10 days with no power, once I received the car the problem was gone, then it came back again when I swapped my filter panel since the K&N filter i had on was completely warped (for some odd reason).

    Let us know if you do the procedure and the idle hunt goes away.

    heres a video of how my car acts now once again:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-oSGu91VJ4

  6. #6
    Enthusiast Jack B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    3,542
    The dealer and a witech are needed
    Self tuned HPT 10.85@130 mph (DA=+1000)
    [B]Arrow Heads & Cam - best run is coming
    (Sold) 1997 Red/White -10.9/129 MPH

  7. #7
    Regional Membership Director
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Indiana/Kentucky
    Steve-Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,492
    Yes, a wiTECH is needed. On Gen IV cars, it could be done with either a StatSCAN or a wiTECH.
    I don't send or receive "PM's" since I prefer DIRECT communication.

  8. #8
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2017
    Houston

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    824
    drove it to a car meet today, no CEL, idle seemed more stable, what is the typical idle again? Mines at 750 rpm, i dont remember what it was at on stock PCM
    2013 RaceYellow/Black GTS Laguna
    2015 Mustang GT Premium Perf Pack

  9. #9
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2017
    NY/CT
    cubeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    550
    I had a hunting problem with my Arrow PCM, throttle relearn didn't resolve it but I also had other issues going on. I'm HPTuners now.

  10. #10
    Enthusiast Jack B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    3,542
    Quote Originally Posted by cubeman View Post
    I had a hunting problem with my Arrow PCM, throttle relearn didn't resolve it but I also had other issues going on. I'm HPTuners now.
    HPT allows a throttle relearn if you are using their flash.
    Self tuned HPT 10.85@130 mph (DA=+1000)
    [B]Arrow Heads & Cam - best run is coming
    (Sold) 1997 Red/White -10.9/129 MPH

  11. #11
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2017
    Carolinas
    dirtyboot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    176
    Quote Originally Posted by ForTehNguyen View Post
    drove it to a car meet today, no CEL, idle seemed more stable, what is the typical idle again? Mines at 750 rpm, i dont remember what it was at on stock PCM
    I don't remember stock pcm either, but mine would hunt a little on idle, between ~750-900 until at operating temps. then It was stable ~750-800

    Edit: I don't think much of it, so long as my oil pressure is fine and it doesn't sound like its the verge of stalling. Tom Sessions helped me with the relearn.
    Last edited by dirtyboot; 09-24-2018 at 11:39 AM.
    When seconds count - lose a finger; it's extra weight! Who needs 10 anyway?

  12. #12
    Enthusiast 99RT10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Banned
    Posts
    3,038
    So, just to confirm, the throttle relearn can be done on your own or has to be done with the Witech? Sounds like the OP's car is running fine without going to the dealer
    09 ACR With all the goodies
    99 ACR TT 99 red RT/10 Roe S/C
    97 B/W RT/10 TT 94 RT/10 TT

  13. #13
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2017
    NY/CT
    cubeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    550
    Quote Originally Posted by 99RT10 View Post
    So, just to confirm, the throttle relearn can be done on your own or has to be done with the Witech? Sounds like the OP's car is running fine without going to the dealer
    If your not running HPTuners it needs to be done at the dealer

  14. #14
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2017
    Houston

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    824
    well everyone keeps saying that but I did the throttle relearn procedure about 5x and the CEL went away. Seemed to drive fine going to a meet on saturday, but I didnt push it hard since the streets were wet. I got the idea to try the procedure from other dodge/chrysler vehicles doing a throttle relearn and took a shot on the viper to see if it was the same.
    2013 RaceYellow/Black GTS Laguna
    2015 Mustang GT Premium Perf Pack

  15. #15
    Enthusiast Jack B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    3,542
    Quote Originally Posted by cubeman View Post
    If your not running HPTuners it needs to be done at the dealer
    The tech needs a witech scan tool. Very few independents will have that tool.
    Self tuned HPT 10.85@130 mph (DA=+1000)
    [B]Arrow Heads & Cam - best run is coming
    (Sold) 1997 Red/White -10.9/129 MPH

  16. #16
    Enthusiast ViperGTS14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    SWF
    Posts
    218
    Thinking mine needs this as well, not sure why though only thing that was changed was a crank sensor. going to the dealer tomorrow. Shame we can get the relearn tools cheaper so we can do stuff like this ourselves.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uEfhQOWhYI

  17. #17
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Los Angeles CA
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by ViperGTS14 View Post
    Thinking mine needs this as well, not sure why though only thing that was changed was a crank sensor. going to the dealer tomorrow. Shame we can get the relearn tools cheaper so we can do stuff like this ourselves.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uEfhQOWhYI
    Yeah, it's not cheap to get your hands on a factory tool or an all-in-one type tool. I sell packages that include a factory tool, the laptop and the software (witech) set-up for "offline" use but it's a tough sell for most people. It pays for itself over time but it's best suited to people who plan to use it with multiple Chrysler vehicles or otherwise expect to use it 10+ times over a number of years. It's great to have and can be a godsend when trying to diagnose a problem. It gives enough access and data to make a man drool but barring that it would probably be cheaper to pay the dealer or shop to do it for you. Especially on those one-off tasks. Depending on the year of the vehicle and the task you're trying to perform, you may need to enlist the help of the dealer anyway. For example, key programing on the "rolling pin code" vehicles (2014+). I'm happy to give you a more detailed breakdown of what is available if you decide owning one is for you but, in the meantime, you'll just have to accept that there are some things you'll need to farm out to a shop to get done.
    Last edited by ToolAfterlife; 01-21-2020 at 05:15 AM.

  18. #18
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Colorado/Montana/Utah/Wyoming
    ViperGeorge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Greenwood Village, CO
    Posts
    2,752
    Quote Originally Posted by ViperGTS14 View Post
    Thinking mine needs this as well, not sure why though only thing that was changed was a crank sensor. going to the dealer tomorrow. Shame we can get the relearn tools cheaper so we can do stuff like this ourselves.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uEfhQOWhYI
    If the crank sensor is changed does the PCM need to relearn TEC (Tooth Error Correction)? TEC adjusts the crank sensor for the slight variations in flywheel construction. My 2014 came from the factory improperly set and the TEC had to be relearned. Otherwise I would get P030x codes.
    2017 ACR/TA in 2014 TA Header Orange, #4 of 10.
    2008 Vert in Viper Bright Blue with silver stripes.
    2014 GTS in white with gunmetal stripes. I'm also one of the original 100's

  19. #19
    VOA Member
    since 2019
    Georgia
    BSLSK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by ViperGeorge View Post
    If the crank sensor is changed does the PCM need to relearn TEC (Tooth Error Correction)? TEC adjusts the crank sensor for the slight variations in flywheel construction. My 2014 came from the factory improperly set and the TEC had to be relearned. Otherwise I would get P030x codes.
    I don't know the answer but my dealer didn't know what the TEC was nor how to relearn it. Is there a procedure I can download to provide them?
    2014 GTS


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •