Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Enthusiast ky13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Harpers Ferry, WV
    Posts
    258

    Hood Pin Location

    I'm trying to determine the best location for hood pins on a Gen 3/4 Viper. I recently installed a carbon fiber Gen 4 hood on my Gen 3 and am planning on removing the factory bracketry in favor of pins. I was leaning towards angled brackets off of the frame (near where the rubber hood stoppers are located), since the Viper doesn't utilize an upper rad support like many vehicles. Pics of setups are appreciated.
    2004 SRT10 Convertible

    kritchie@redhat.com

  2. #2
    Enthusiast ky13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Harpers Ferry, WV
    Posts
    258
    To clarify, I'm just going to use pins in the front (AreoCatch). I'll still utilize the factory mounts/struts in the rear.

    The following is a pic of what I'm talking about; there is an existing hole in the frame. I would just use an angled bracket:

    2004 SRT10 Convertible

    kritchie@redhat.com

  3. #3
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Central North Florida
    LATAMUD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tampa / Kuwait
    Posts
    712
    Look at where that lines up with the hood, you'll have to cut into the scooped air plenum. There's more cutting involved into that new hood. I've only ever see hood pins on Vipers that are full racecar, lift off hoods. I think they would throw off the sleek aerodynamic look with pins.

  4. #4
    Enthusiast ky13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Harpers Ferry, WV
    Posts
    258
    I'm not going to modify the scooped air plenum. I would locate the pins far enough to the sides. Also, the aerocatch pins sit flat (see pic below), so no change in looks. It's a CF hood, so a dremel will cut through like butter. The following depicts what I'm planning:

    Last edited by ky13; 07-02-2019 at 02:56 PM.
    2004 SRT10 Convertible

    kritchie@redhat.com

  5. #5
    Enthusiast Fatman2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    AZ, CA, VA
    Posts
    276
    Does anyone know if you have to use different strut supports on carbon fiber hoods?
    06 Srt10 Coupe, 16 Kia Sportage

    V10 Time

  6. #6
    Enthusiast ky13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Harpers Ferry, WV
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatman2006 View Post
    Does anyone know if you have to use different strut supports on carbon fiber hoods?
    You can swap them out if you'd like, but it's not a requirement. The factory struts are working fine with my CF hood (that is 11 lbs lighter than its factory counterpart).
    2004 SRT10 Convertible

    kritchie@redhat.com

  7. #7
    Enthusiast Fatman2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    AZ, CA, VA
    Posts
    276
    Quote Originally Posted by ky13 View Post
    You can swap them out if you'd like, but it's not a requirement. The factory struts are working fine with my CF hood (that is 11 lbs lighter than its factory counterpart).
    Awesome thanks.
    06 Srt10 Coupe, 16 Kia Sportage

    V10 Time

  8. #8
    If you have any pics of what you did, I'd appreciate it. I'm wanting to do this also. What brand carbon fiber hood did you purchase?

  9. #9
    Enthusiast ky13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Harpers Ferry, WV
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by Smoke View Post
    If you have any pics of what you did, I'd appreciate it. I'm wanting to do this also. What brand carbon fiber hood did you purchase?
    Haven't had time to tackle this project. I have the Carbon Creations Gen 4 hood.
    2004 SRT10 Convertible

    kritchie@redhat.com

  10. #10
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2019
    Northern California
    ACR-ISH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    633
    Hey Ky.... Are you doing it for the "look"? If the latch works the hood should latch fine and it's an unnecessary step, but if you're doing it cosmetically I totally get it. You can try to run the base THROUGH the rubber adjuster so the closing point is also the adjustment point so the hood sits 100% flush. Finite details!
    Northern CA VOA Operations Director ****** 2014 SRT Viper - Full APR Aero - BC Racing Coil Overs - Forgeline GA3R-6 - and the list goes on...
    @acr_ish and @fivehundrednorth (dot com) on IG

  11. #11
    Enthusiast ky13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Harpers Ferry, WV
    Posts
    258
    Quote Originally Posted by ACR-ISH View Post
    Hey Ky.... Are you doing it for the "look"? If the latch works the hood should latch fine and it's an unnecessary step, but if you're doing it cosmetically I totally get it. You can try to run the base THROUGH the rubber adjuster so the closing point is also the adjustment point so the hood sits 100% flush. Finite details!
    I would completely remove the factory latch/ancillary components. I was considering going that route, but the rubber adjuster is pretty close to the edge of the hood; the aerocatch latches, while low profile, have a large footprint.
    2004 SRT10 Convertible

    kritchie@redhat.com


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •