Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Arizona
    LifeIsGood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Viper Drive, AZ
    Posts
    786

    Pegged Temp Gauge

    A few months back I was on my way home from the Pacific Coast Highway trip. I looked down and the temp gauge was pegged. I quickly got off at the current exit and took a look. Nothing was overheating and nothing was unusual under the hood. To make a longish story short...nothing seems to be wrong heat wise with my viper. I've taken it for numerous drives and miles since it pegged, no problems. My local tech thinks there might be a ground issue somewhere. Every time I turn on the key, the temp gauge goes to 250+ and stays there.
    I haven't looked at anything under the hood yet. I remember reading about this issue years ago, but I can't find any threads about it on the viper sites I frequent. I was hoping someone here may have had the same issue in the past and could point me in the exact direction.

    2001 RT/10
    2001 VRY RT/10

  2. #2
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Westport, Ma
    Posts
    143
    I think this is what you are looking for.


    https://driveviper.com/forums/thread...p+sending+unit

  3. #3
    Regional President
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    United Kingdom
    Fatboy 18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    South of London, Surrey
    Posts
    6,728
    Probably Rust on those internal parts of the gauge formed from Colorado winters to Sunny Arazona

  4. #4
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Polishing my spare OEM windshield
    Posts
    2,286
    Try a sending unit. Get the SMP from Rock Auto. SMP makes the OEM sensors. Easy to change and virtually no loss of coolant when changing it.
    The best thing about this Viper forum....NO DAVE6666!

  5. #5
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    Alabama/Tennessee
    uvbnbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Nashvizzle TN
    Posts
    782
    coolant temp sensor. Get the OEM sensor. I didn't realize how many engine functions could be affected by coolant temp. Cheap sensors relay cheap data.
    2017 GTS Competition Blue
    1998 RT/10 Silver 6.5 Roe S/C, 1.7 HS RR's, Roe Hi-Flow Cats, B & B Headers/3" exhaust, 3.33, Eibachs, SRT front brake upgrade, Toms 40mm rear upgrade .....

  6. #6
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Arizona
    LifeIsGood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Viper Drive, AZ
    Posts
    786
    Temperature Sending Unit ordered. I'll provide an update once I get it replaced.

    Quote Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
    Try a sending unit. Get the SMP from Rock Auto. SMP makes the OEM sensors. Easy to change and virtually no loss of coolant when changing it.
    Quote Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
    If you suspect the sending unit just put a new one in. They are cheap. Either get OEM or a Standard Automotive Products brand. Do it engine cold and you don't even have to top off the coolant when done. Just unscrew it and put the new one in. Very simple swap.
    Okay Dave...VIRTUALLY no coolant loss or NO coolant loss. The manual wants me to do a partial drain. That's also a bit ambiguous. I don't want to drain anything if I don't have to. Would jacking up just the driver side help?
    2001 VRY RT/10

  7. #7
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2016
    New England
    capevettes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    610
    Quote Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
    Try a sending unit. Get the SMP from Rock Auto. SMP makes the OEM sensors. Easy to change and virtually no loss of coolant when changing it.
    Agree. I had the same issue with my 2001 GTS. I got the unit from Rock Auto. Factory piece. That was the fix. Easy to change. Lost no coolant.

  8. #8
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Polishing my spare OEM windshield
    Posts
    2,286
    You're overthinking it. Change the damn sensor.
    The best thing about this Viper forum....NO DAVE6666!

  9. #9
    Enthusiast 99RT10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Banned
    Posts
    3,172
    ^^^^Dave FTW^^^^
    09 ACR With all the goodies
    99 ACR TT 99 red RT/10 Roe S/C
    97 B/W RT/10 TT 94 RT/10 TT

  10. #10
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Arizona
    LifeIsGood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Viper Drive, AZ
    Posts
    786
    Quote Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
    You're overthinking it. Change the damn sensor.
    Okay bitch! If coolant leaks all over my shit I'll be making a trip down to Tejas.
    2001 VRY RT/10

  11. #11
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Polishing my spare OEM windshield
    Posts
    2,286
    Attaboy. You can Zaino the side of the engine block after you're done.
    The best thing about this Viper forum....NO DAVE6666!

  12. #12
    VOA Member
    since 2018
    Arizona
    Martyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    375
    It won’t leak, I just did mine last year as well, no loss of coolant. Simple job!

    I can come over and supervise over a beer
    98 GTS
    70 LS6 Chevelle
    2014 Ftype V8S

  13. #13
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Arizona
    LifeIsGood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Viper Drive, AZ
    Posts
    786
    Oh hell, it's time to restock the fridge.
    2001 VRY RT/10

  14. #14
    Moderator
    plumcrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    ALL OVER
    Posts
    2,972
    def the sending unit, at leas thats what mine did
    THE IGNORE FEATURE WORKS, TRY IT...

  15. #15
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Polishing my spare OEM windshield
    Posts
    2,286
    Quote Originally Posted by plumcrazy View Post
    def the sending unit, at leas thats what mine did
    Will I lose any fluid if I change it? Please be specific, like any fluid, or any fluid, or aNy fluid.
    The best thing about this Viper forum....NO DAVE6666!

  16. #16
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Arizona
    LifeIsGood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Viper Drive, AZ
    Posts
    786
    or ANY fluid!
    2001 VRY RT/10

  17. #17
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Arizona
    LifeIsGood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Viper Drive, AZ
    Posts
    786
    Replaced the Temperature Sending Unit yesterday. Took her out for a drive today and the dash temperature gauge was working just fine again. Thanks everybody!

    OE removed:

    GEN II - Temp Sending Unit - OE Removed.jpg

    OE and New parts:

    GEN II - Temp Sending Unit - OE and New.jpg

    New installed:

    GEN II - Temp Sending Unit - Installed.jpg

    Replacement complete:

    GEN II - Temp Sending Unit - Replacement Done.jpg

    There was a quarter sized lake of coolant under the viper so next time I'm in bumfuck Texas, Dave owes me a beer.
    2001 VRY RT/10

  18. #18
    So the beer your owed, will you get that one before or after you buy the six you owe him for shaming you into changing the sensor?

  19. #19
    Moderator
    plumcrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    ALL OVER
    Posts
    2,972
    youre welcome
    THE IGNORE FEATURE WORKS, TRY IT...

  20. #20
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Polishing my spare OEM windshield
    Posts
    2,286
    Bitch you need to Zaino your wiring harnesses. I'll get busy finding your beer.

    lone-star-riddles-380-400-girls8.jpg
    The best thing about this Viper forum....NO DAVE6666!

  21. #21
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2015
    Arizona
    drewsss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Valley of the Sun
    Posts
    723
    Ken - am late to the party here, but that was the problem and glad that you fixed it...lol.

    The same thing happened to me on the way back from No Fly Zone in Gila Bend Airport with my Gen II, a few years ago. Temp gauge pegged and never came down. Eddie met me all the way out there to tow me, just in case. We decided (i.e., took a chance) that it was the gauge and I drove it home without issues. My problem was that, with the Paxton installed, I couldn't access the sensor easily and had to fabricate a special tool to be able to access it without having to remove the whole SC set up. Thanks to another member (Jim S) whom welded and modified a socket just for this purpose, we solved the problem. I cursed that I'd never have a SC set up again after that nightmare.

    Glad that it all worked out. And Dave6666 - our Arizona girls look better than that. But I'll take a beer anyway.
    2004 SRT-10 Vert w/Gen IV hood (and other mods on the way)
    2008 Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder, V-10, Fabspeed, 6-speed gated manual
    Past: 1995 & 2001 RT/10's; 2003 Vert; 2001 Paxton SC ACR (gone but not forgotten)


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •