Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31
  1. #1
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20

    rpm tach signal

    im installing my INNOVATE 3851 boost and rpm tach. i was wondering where should i grab the signal wire. injector?

  2. #2
    Enthusiast Steve M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    3,384
    On my Gen 4, I grabbed it off of a coil wire using an MSD 8918 Tach Signal GMR Pickup:

    https://driveviper.com/forums/thread...l=1#post296461

    This wouldn't be an option on a Gen 3 since they don't use the same coil near plug setup. A fuel injector wire should work though.
    2008 SRT-10 Coupe - Venom Red Metallic w/ White Stripes
    High Flow Cats | Gen 5 Intake Manifold | HPTuners | 3.55s | MCS | DSS Axles | Nth Moto Clutch | 11.04 @ 129.7, 1.81 60' (-100 ft DA, w/ 3.55s)

  3. #3
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    any wire on the injector? cylinder 9 should be fine?

  4. #4
    VOA Member
    since 2013
    Minnesota
    Back In Black's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    430
    Quote Originally Posted by RI-Viper View Post
    any wire on the injector? cylinder 9 should be fine?
    Are you using the MSD GMR? I would stick with a coil wire. Follow the installation instructions and you should be fine. Any cylinder will work but #9 is closest to cockpit access points.
    2008 Viper ACR
    2009 Viper SRT-10X | 190mph Standing Mile | 10.76@133.7mph 1/4 Mile

  5. #5
    Enthusiast Steve M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    3,384
    Not sure which wire does what on the fuel injectors, but the cylinder # shouldn't matter. If it doesn't work for one wire, try the other. If you have access to a wiring diagram, that would help eliminate the guess work.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Are you using the MSD GMR? I would stick with a coil wire. Follow the installation instructions and you should be fine. Any cylinder will work but #9 is closest to cockpit access points.
    I think he's working with a Gen 3, so I'm not sure that would work for him.
    2008 SRT-10 Coupe - Venom Red Metallic w/ White Stripes
    High Flow Cats | Gen 5 Intake Manifold | HPTuners | 3.55s | MCS | DSS Axles | Nth Moto Clutch | 11.04 @ 129.7, 1.81 60' (-100 ft DA, w/ 3.55s)

  6. #6
    F9625821-94A4-48E9-A399-9930C91B15E2.jpg
    Coil wire will not work on a gen3 period.
    This will work.

  7. #7
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    i have a pectel ecu stand alone system. so i dont wanna mess with this ECU i think the injector wire its going to be
    04 Viper RSI 1500hp E85

  8. #8
    I would contact pectel as you may have a tach signal from the ecu.
    I just don’t like tapping into injector signals. Just me. Probably fine.

  9. #9
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Central North Florida
    LATAMUD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tampa / Kuwait
    Posts
    715
    Quote Originally Posted by Ramtuff View Post
    F9625821-94A4-48E9-A399-9930C91B15E2.jpg
    Coil wire will not work on a gen3 period.
    This will work.
    Quick comment on the Viper truck and Viper car, the engine harnesses are very different, possibly the pinout for the truck ECUs are different too. I tried to save $100 a few years ago and get a truck engine harness and just "stretch" it so to speak to work in a car that needed a harness. I made it work but it wasn't worth the time I put into it.

    To obtain a ECU pinout wire to work in C101 C31, I find ECU pigtails on ebay for like $20-30, the wires separate easily.
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/03-Dodge-Du...IAAOSwFN9eIgxR
    ecu pigtail.jpg
    03 vert, 04 coupe, 06 vert, 08 coupe, ACRX #33

  10. #10
    You can teach a dog to fetch, therefore you teach a potato to dance! “Amazingly Bad Analogy”

  11. #11
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    i got it off the injector wire. thanks for the replys
    04 Viper RSI 1500hp E85

  12. #12
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    update i had to purchase the MSD Ignition 8918. i hope to hook up too the injector wire. since i cant get a coil signal. waiting on part should be here friday
    04 Viper RSI 1500hp E85

  13. #13
    Enthusiast Steve M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    3,384
    So I'm assuming you were tapping directly into the injector wire? Was it just not a good connection?

    Let us know if the MSD unit works.
    2008 SRT-10 Coupe - Venom Red Metallic w/ White Stripes
    High Flow Cats | Gen 5 Intake Manifold | HPTuners | 3.55s | MCS | DSS Axles | Nth Moto Clutch | 11.04 @ 129.7, 1.81 60' (-100 ft DA, w/ 3.55s)

  14. #14
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    the msd unit doesnt work on either injector wire
    04 Viper RSI 1500hp E85

  15. #15
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    i tapped into the c31 wire off my pectel system and still no signal to shift light.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    04 Viper RSI 1500hp E85

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by RI-Viper View Post
    the msd unit doesnt work on either injector wire
    Did you try the coil wire?
    You can teach a dog to fetch, therefore you teach a potato to dance! “Amazingly Bad Analogy”

  17. #17
    Enthusiast Steve M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    3,384
    Did you try something other than that vampire tap? Those things regularly make poor connections.
    2008 SRT-10 Coupe - Venom Red Metallic w/ White Stripes
    High Flow Cats | Gen 5 Intake Manifold | HPTuners | 3.55s | MCS | DSS Axles | Nth Moto Clutch | 11.04 @ 129.7, 1.81 60' (-100 ft DA, w/ 3.55s)

  18. #18
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by pokeyl View Post
    Did you try the coil wire?
    didnt think that was a option on a gen 3.
    04 Viper RSI 1500hp E85

  19. #19
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
    Did you try something other than that vampire tap? Those things regularly make poor connections.
    i ohm it out to make sure is make a good connection.
    04 Viper RSI 1500hp E85

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by RI-Viper View Post
    didnt think that was a option on a gen 3.
    I looked over the specs on your gauge, you just need to set it to one pulse per revolution. This is due to the waisted spark fires once each crank revolution. Try any of the 5 coil driver outputs should work. The coils have much higher amp draw then the injector driver.
    You can teach a dog to fetch, therefore you teach a potato to dance! “Amazingly Bad Analogy”

  21. #21
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by pokeyl View Post
    I looked over the specs on your gauge, you just need to set it to one pulse per revolution. This is due to the waisted spark fires once each crank revolution. Try any of the 5 coil driver outputs should work. The coils have much higher amp draw then the injector driver.
    i have the gauge setup like this
    Attached Images Attached Images
    04 Viper RSI 1500hp E85

  22. #22
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    South Florida
    Tech Team

    Supporting Vendor
    Viper Specialty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    698
    1. You cannot use an injector signal to reliably get any kind of RPM info. Injectors turn off at decel, go static open at high loads, and have a very tiny PW at low loads. You need either a Coil output, or, a Tach output from the Pectel ECU which it can be programmed to do.

    2. Using aftermarket "stuff" to do things that a Pectel controller can do directly, is an exercise in redundancy.

    3. Those quick taps will absolutely cost you your sanity, wiring harness, and engine.... eventually.
    Dan Lesser
    Viper Specialty Performance
    www.ViperSpecialty.com
    (716) 912-5336

    VOA Tech Team

    .


  23. #23
    Enthusiast Steve M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    3,384
    Quote Originally Posted by Viper Specialty View Post
    1. You cannot use an injector signal to reliably get any kind of RPM info. Injectors turn off at decel, go static open at high loads, and have a very tiny PW at low loads. You need either a Coil output, or, a Tach output from the Pectel ECU which it can be programmed to do.
    I didn't think about that...thanks for the insight.
    2008 SRT-10 Coupe - Venom Red Metallic w/ White Stripes
    High Flow Cats | Gen 5 Intake Manifold | HPTuners | 3.55s | MCS | DSS Axles | Nth Moto Clutch | 11.04 @ 129.7, 1.81 60' (-100 ft DA, w/ 3.55s)

  24. #24
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New England

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    RHODE ISLAND
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by Viper Specialty View Post
    1. You cannot use an injector signal to reliably get any kind of RPM info. Injectors turn off at decel, go static open at high loads, and have a very tiny PW at low loads. You need either a Coil output, or, a Tach output from the Pectel ECU which it can be programmed to do.

    2. Using aftermarket "stuff" to do things that a Pectel controller can do directly, is an exercise in redundancy.

    3. Those quick taps will absolutely cost you your sanity, wiring harness, and engine.... eventually.
    do you know which wire i will need to tap into? either coil (coils under intake) or pectel system? thank you much
    04 Viper RSI 1500hp E85

  25. #25
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2014
    South Florida
    Tech Team

    Supporting Vendor
    Viper Specialty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Cape Coral, FL
    Posts
    698
    Quote Originally Posted by RI-Viper View Post
    do you know which wire i will need to tap into? either coil (coils under intake) or pectel system? thank you much
    Any coil output from either coil block will do the job. I cannot tell you how your car is wired, you will have to trace it. Any of the connected IGN outputs from the Pectel will work just fine.
    Dan Lesser
    Viper Specialty Performance
    www.ViperSpecialty.com
    (716) 912-5336

    VOA Tech Team

    .



 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •