Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    35

    Oil Pressure 0 100

    Hello, I have a 2014 GTS. Took the car out for a spin around town. While sitting at a stop light the oil pressure guage started to flash and read 0. Then when I started to drive so I could pull over somewhere the pressure read over 100. This kept on happening, luckily being close to home I brought it back. First time ever couldn't wait to turn the car off lol (nervous laugh). Waited 5 mins to check oil level and it read full. No weird noises in the motor either. Any thoughts?
    2014 SRT Viper GTS
    2005 Ram SRT-10 QC

  2. #2
    Assuming the oil level is good I check the connection and wires for the oil pressure sensor.

  3. #3
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by Whiskey View Post
    Assuming the oil level is good I check the connection and wires for the oil pressure sensor.
    Location of this sensor?
    2014 SRT Viper GTS
    2005 Ram SRT-10 QC

  4. #4
    VOA Member
    since 2014
    Central North Florida
    98intrigue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    1,477
    Quote Originally Posted by SRTGill View Post
    Location of this sensor?
    It's somewhat of a common issue from reading this forum. The link below says "lower passenger side front of the engine".

    https://driveviper.com/forums/thread...imp-mode/page2
    Ryan - 14 Stryker Green Nth Moto TT/Heads/Cam
    Past - 14 Stryker Green VE Stage II Heads/Cam, '16 ACR-E, '14 Anodized Carbon, '14 TA, Orange '03 Paxton vert w/coupe rear, Black '06 coupe w/SSG accents

  5. #5
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by 98intrigue View Post
    It's somewhat of a common issue from reading this forum. The link below says "lower passenger side front of the engine".

    https://driveviper.com/forums/thread...imp-mode/page2
    Copy, will try to find that. Going through that thread might need a sensor also
    2014 SRT Viper GTS
    2005 Ram SRT-10 QC

  6. #6
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2020
    New Jersey

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Medford, NJ
    Posts
    231
    In case it helps.


    Sensor torque is 80in-lbs from the tech manual.
    2013 GTS, Track Pack, Black/Silver
    Eat, Sleep and driveviper.com
    NJ VOA Facebook Group

  7. #7
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    35
    I see the sensor, but cant seem to get the connector off. Any tips?
    2014 SRT Viper GTS
    2005 Ram SRT-10 QC

  8. #8
    Common issue across the Dodge/Jeep line it seems. I seen it on this board several times.
    2013 Dodge Viper SRT Track Pack Adrenaline Red
    2016 Dodge Ram 1500 Bighorn Quad Cab 5.7L 4x4 Blue Streak Pearl

  9. #9
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2015
    New Jersey

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Watchung,NJ
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by SRTGill View Post
    I see the sensor, but cant seem to get the connector off. Any tips?
    SRT Gill, You have to move the red blade to open switch. Search for "changing oil presure sensor genv"

    there is a picture of the switch in that post.
    2013 GTS, 2018 Trackhawk,2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, 2010 HARLEY SUPER GLIDE CUSTOM

  10. #10
    Mine did the same thing. It was the oil switch. I went to local Dodge Dealer. Picked one up for pretty cheap. Same one they use on many vehicles. I bit of a pain to install but not impossible and I have very large fat hands so that made it a bit more difficult. I think it took me about 30 minutes to replace.

  11. #11
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    35
    All set now, thanks everyone. The viper lives for another day!
    2014 SRT Viper GTS
    2005 Ram SRT-10 QC


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •