Gen III Manual Transmission Fluid Change

2005 Viper Fill Plug Transmission.jpg
    2005 Transmission Drain Plug.jpg
    Amsoil 1.jpg
    Amsoil 2.jpg

I changed the Manual Transmission Fluid on my 2005.
    First time using AMSOIL Synthetic SAE 75W90 API GL-4
    Shifting is smoother. Nice surprise !!!!

Fill Plug 20 ft/lbs
    Drain Plug 28 ft/lbs
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by fhrzr1; 05-05-2021 at 06:57 PM.

Regional Membership Director
    VOA Member
    since 2013
    Ontario
    I've been using that for the last 15 years with good results .......

fhrzr1 where you located ???
    White Mamba ,

Cocoa, Florida

VOA Member
    since 2013
    Ontario
    Quote Originally Posted by fhrzr1 View Post
    Cocoa, Florida
    Nice , I thought you might be closer ......
    White Mamba ,

VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Indiana/Kentucky
    fhrzr1, glad you like your new fluid...being a GL-4, it should be a safe pick since MOPAR dropped their original fluid for this Viper.

FYI...the torque spec for YOUR transmission's drain plug is 28 ft-lbs.
    I don't send or receive "PM's" since I prefer DIRECT communication.

VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Indiana/Kentucky
    In an effort to be open, honest, and thorough...I am posting some info found on the VCA forum concerning the correct torque for the transmission drain plug as discussed above. fhrzr1 responded to my torque quote of 28 ft-lbs on his 2005 Viper with the following interesting information.

Since he is likely busy at present, I am quoting him below:

"The 2005 Dodge Viper Service manual torque value of 28 ft/lbs for the drain plug seem to be in error.
    All service manuals for the T-56 transmission including TREMEC T-56 Service Manual calls for a value of 20 ft/lbs. The fill plug is also 20 ft/lbs.