VOA Mamba Member
    since 2016
    NY/CT

Break in for diff and transmission

My car is getting a new diff (existing one is whining) and a new transmission (existing one has an issue with synchros for 1st gear) replaced under warranty. Are there any specific procedures for breaking them in? I remember seeing something here about a diff years ago, but can't find it.

Supporting Vendor JonB ~ PartsRack's Avatar
    Up The River..[Columbia River Gorge near Portland OR]
    Recommend easy-peasy for first 100 or so miles; Moderate next 200-300 ; AVOID WOT runs for first 500 miles.

Fanatic? Chek your diff oil after 1000 !

ps: You can drive like hell from Mile 1....but you wont care or see 100k miles on ODO!
    Last edited by JonB ~ PartsRack; 06-04-2021 at 05:05 PM.
    Jon "JonB" Brobst ~~~~:<~ JonB@PartsRack.com

VOA Member
    since 2020
    Ohio
    I looked into this years ago...I'm no expert, but I'll share what I found. Hopefully it helps.

One of the major issues with a new differential is how tight it is, but it's by design. New bearings will have a little more preload (i.e. they are tighter) than old bearings. They will loosen up during break in, but until they do, they will generate extra heat. Excessive heat breaks down oil. The differentials in these cars don't hold much oil, so keeping the heat in check should be the #1 priority for the first few heat cycles you put on a new diff. If you are running a differential oil cooler, it would be much less of a concern.

In general, I've found that companies specializing in differentials will say you need to break in a differential for about 500 miles or so before you go hard on it, but how you put those miles on matters. Stated more bluntly: don't just go on a 500 mile road trip and think you are properly breaking in your new differential. It's all about heat cycles.