Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Enthusiast ILLMAX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Northeast, Ohio
    Posts
    36

    Car won t start

    Cliff's Notes version.
    Car has been running strong and I've been driving it a lot.
    Took it out last night.
    It ran great.
    Went to start it up this morning and much to my surprise I couldn't get it to fire up.
    Battery seems ok. All my lights and accessories function.
    I can hear the fuel pump and the starter cranks.
    Pulled a plug wire and did a little test...[U]didn't get a spark.[/U
    I do not have an OBD.
    Thoughts?
    2001 RT10 Deep Sapphire Blue

  2. #2
    Could be a ton of things. If you are getting fuel from the pump but not spark or signal to the injectors. Check/replace the asd relay.

  3. #3
    Regional President
    VOA Member
    since 2013
    United Kingdom
    Fatboy 18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    South of London, Surrey
    Posts
    7,168
    Call Cuck Tator. Phone 914-763-3136

    Have you tried locking and unlocking the car? might be the eem immobilising the engine?

  4. #4
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Looking for Mike's lost 747
    Posts
    2,610
    If the VTSS is in alarm the vehicle will try to start momentarily before being shut off. According to the OP's description that is not happening. So that suggests it's not the VTSS. Also, the VTSS uses the ASD relay, which if it was malfunctioning, would explain either scenario.
    /''[ ]''|[___|___]
    [---T-- L -OlllllllO-]
    ()_)"""()_)/''''''''''\)_)

  5. #5
    Web Site Committee
    Moderator
    Tech Team
    City's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Nu Yawk
    Posts
    2,853
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatboy 18 View Post
    Call Chuck Tator. Phone 914-763-3136
    The best answer WHENEVER in doubt.
    2008 SRT10 Open Roof (1 of 2)
    2014 SRT8 JGC Closed Roof (Gone and missed)
    2018 Range Rover Sport Dynamic
    Resident Misanthrope

  6. #6
    Regional Membership Director
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Indiana/Kentucky
    Steve-Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3,093
    Good advice above. I would check fuse #15 in PDC under hood as it protects both PCM and ASD relay.
    I don't send or receive "PM's" since I prefer DIRECT communication.

  7. #7
    Enthusiast ILLMAX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Northeast, Ohio
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve-Indy View Post
    Good advice above. I would check fuse #15 in PDC under hood as it protects both PCM and ASD relay.
    Steve, thanks to you and everyone else for the thoughts and ideas. It's not firing, so it's not the VTSS. I also checked fuse #15 which had no issues. I've spoke to Chuck a few times as well. I've decided to have it towed Saturday morning to a near-bye shop (who's owner just so happened to buy a Black 2000 RT10 a few weeks back). I'll keep the board posted as to how this all shakes out. Kind regards.
    2001 RT10 Deep Sapphire Blue

  8. #8
    Enthusiast ILLMAX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Northeast, Ohio
    Posts
    36
    UPDATE....the problem was, of all things...the good ol' CAM SENSOR. An after-market version was installed just a couple months ago...and it's already failed. smh
    2001 RT10 Deep Sapphire Blue

  9. #9
    good to know , sorry to hear .

  10. #10
    VOA Member
    since 2020
    Indiana/Kentucky
    Hoonin88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    108
    Thank you for actually following up!!!

  11. #11
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Looking for Mike's lost 747
    Posts
    2,610
    Quote Originally Posted by ILLMAX1 View Post
    UPDATE....the problem was, of all things...the good ol' CAM SENSOR. An after-market version was installed just a couple months ago...and it's already failed. smh
    I have brand new OEM if you need one.
    /''[ ]''|[___|___]
    [---T-- L -OlllllllO-]
    ()_)"""()_)/''''''''''\)_)

  12. #12
    Regional President
    VOA Member
    since 2013
    United Kingdom
    Fatboy 18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    South of London, Surrey
    Posts
    7,168
    Blimey I wouldn't have thought of that! Was the end of the sensor damaged? I mean there is not much to them, basically its a magnet that detects the high point of the cam wheel

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatboy 18 View Post
    Blimey I wouldn't have thought of that! Was the end of the sensor damaged? I mean there is not much to them, basically its a magnet that detects the high point of the cam wheel
    I'd bet on heat.

    I work in a supply industry and write plans for testing commercially available part to provide "reasonable assurance" that it'll work once installed. We put Electrical/Electro-mechanical devices through "Heat aging" and "Cyclic aging" tests. Both are killers of cheap parts.

    With that said... sometimes parts just fail. He might have received the one bad part out of a thousand. Let me tell you about how fun it is to setup and pay for 40 hours worth of testing... only for the parts to fail after 15 minutes.
    2005 Cobalt SS || PT5557 @ 25 psi | E85 ||
    1997 Dodge Viper GTS || Matte Bentley Silver | 59k miles ||
    1986 VW GTI || Lightweight Eyesore Track Car ||

  14. #14
    Enthusiast ILLMAX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Northeast, Ohio
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatboy 18 View Post
    Blimey I wouldn't have thought of that! Was the end of the sensor damaged? I mean there is not much to them, basically its a magnet that detects the high point of the cam wheel
    Your point is well made, which makes me wonder why these aftermarkets sensors have such a bad reputation. You'd think it would be fairly easy to reproduce something like this. I think what USMCFIELDMP said regarding heat is what happened. It doesn't look damaged. We swapped the OEM sensor out of another Viper and it fired right up.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
    I have brand new OEM if you need one.
    Sent you a DM.
    Thanks Dave.
    2001 RT10 Deep Sapphire Blue

  15. #15
    Enthusiast ILLMAX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Northeast, Ohio
    Posts
    36
    Just a quick update for everyone.
    I ended up putting an aftermarket cam sensor in the car because at the time it was readily available (and all I could come up with).
    The cars been running fantastic, but I have to give a HUGE THANKS to DAN CRAGIN.
    Through Dan I was able to get a billet cam sensor from Motec. Originally designed for the GTS-R, I'm pretty sure this things gonna hold up just fine.

    Billet Motec Cam Sensor.jpg
    2001 RT10 Deep Sapphire Blue


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •