Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First Track Day Thoughts

So a bit of a disclaimer: I wasn't pushing the car as hard as I could on purpose. It's my weekend car, not a track car. It's too beautiful for a runoff or paint chips. I did my brake pad bed in the first session and waited until the last session to "run" it. It was a private day, so I was literally the only one on the track the last session ( maybe 2). By this point, in the Texas heat, I was pretty exhausted, but the adrenaline got me through it. I also generally just used 3rd and 4th gear. I did about 7 laps, probably the last 7 laps she'll ever see on the track. It's my street car

Me: I'm a decent driver. I've prob outgrown HPDE for sure, but haven't done much W2W. In a spec series, I bet I would be far from dead last, but behind mid pack. At least that's what my pro-driver instructor estimated. So take this with a grain of salt- slapdick driver driving at 80% of slapdick capability review.

Car: ACR spring rates (plus softer helper spring) on tractive coilovers, and no wing or splitter. I am very low with side skirts (about 2.25" clearance on sides) and a diffuser, so I'm sure that helped. On the Corsa tires, pretty new and in good condition. ACR sway bars too.

The car is a monster. Endless grip. I'd seriously consider adjusting your dead pedal because I was using it to keep myself upright in turns and my left thigh was definitely getting tired. I was pulling a sustained 1.3G regularly in turns without the car being nervous at all.

I didn't pick up much understeer, which is really impressive, but I also wasn't pushing it. It felt well balanced, though a bit hard to rotate. That's probably just due to it being a very sticky car. With more time, I think I'd do better. Definitely more balanced than the c7.