Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1

    Fuse Box Question

    My 8.4 screen was blank on start up the other day. I killed the ignition & restarted and the screen fired right back up in the ordinary course. I have driven the car several times since and the issue never returned. Probably a random glitch but I'm wondering if anyone knows the fuse # for the 8.4? Is anything else tied in to it?

    As a side note I flushed the brakes & changed the oil. Car runs like a monster challenging to find an authentic oil filter (#LGBFJB) but got it done.

    1,973 miles in 5.5 years of ownership so it is totaled now lol
    #6 of 11 Roanoke Special Edition ACR Extreme

  2. #2
    Funny story.. mine did that last weekend.. I had the car on the battery tender for a couple weeks and unplugged it, started the car and the screen stayed black and the little red light on the mirror was on.. stayed that way for a few but then light went off and screen lit up..

  3. #3
    Regional Membership Director
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Indiana/Kentucky
    Steve-Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3,471
    Policy Limits, I am sorry to report that after going through the printed owners manual, a 2015 factory service CD, and the WUSB electrical info that was released in 2018, I cannot answer your fuse question with authority. Frustrating !!

    As an aside, my 2017 Chrysler 300S does the same thing about once a month.
    I don't send or receive "PM's" since I prefer DIRECT communication.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by VENOM-TA View Post
    Funny story.. mine did that last weekend.. I had the car on the battery tender for a couple weeks and unplugged it, started the car and the screen stayed black and the little red light on the mirror was on.. stayed that way for a few but then light went off and screen lit up..
    Interestesting. I have not seen it reported on here before. Perhaps if this thread is searched by others with the issue in the future it will be helpful.

    I don't recall a little red dot. When you say on the mirror do you mean rear view camera image while in reverse gear or do you mean rear view or other mirror?
    #6 of 11 Roanoke Special Edition ACR Extreme

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Policy Limits View Post
    Interestesting. I have not seen it reported on here before. Perhaps if this thread is searched by others with the issue in the future it will be helpful.

    I don't recall a little red dot. When you say on the mirror do you mean rear view camera image while in reverse gear or do you mean rear view or other mirror?
    On the rear view mirror itself.. bottom middle of the glass itself..

  6. #6
    VOA Member
    since 2014
    Alabama/Tennessee
    uvbnbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Nashvizzle TN
    Posts
    889
    I changed the oil in ours last week (sent sample to Blackstone btw). It had been on tender for about 3 months (haven't had chance to get it out much), and my first thought before I started it was "is the 3G/unconnect issue gonna be affected?".
    Started it up, no screen, "uh oh". Backed out of the garage, no rear camera, nothing. But when I got out of the garage, all came on.,
    Related? Unrelated? who knows, but all seems ok
    2017 GTS Competition Blue
    1998 RT/10 Silver 6.5 Roe S/C, 1.7 HS RR's, Roe Hi-Flow Cats, B & B Headers/3" exhaust, 3.33, Eibachs, SRT front brake upgrade, Toms 40mm rear upgrade .....

  7. #7
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Colorado/Montana/Utah/Wyoming
    ViperGeorge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Greenwood Village, CO
    Posts
    3,481
    I know on my 2017 Ram 1500 the fuse for the radio is an inline fuse hidden down by the driver's firewall. Why they didn't put it in the fuse box is a mystery although some people believe it has something to do with the 911 function on the mirror, ie. isolating the circuit and putting it further out of harm's way. There are Youtube videos on how to find the fuse on the Ram but no one really knows why they put it where they did. Maybe they did the same thing with the Viper, put the fuse for the radio in an obscure place.
    2017 ACR/TA in 2014 TA Header Orange, #4 of 10.
    2008 Vert in Viper Bright Blue with silver stripes.
    2014 GTS in white with gunmetal stripes. I'm also one of the original 100's

  8. #8
    The only obscure spot (other than hood release) is where they put the gas tank button. I went insane trying to find that thing in my first one when I needed fuel.

    I ran a Web search & the blank screen does appear to plague other models in the dodge line up. I found one case where a module swap was the fix but in most others the symptom was a one hit wonder.
    #6 of 11 Roanoke Special Edition ACR Extreme

  9. #9
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Colorado/Montana/Utah/Wyoming
    ViperGeorge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Greenwood Village, CO
    Posts
    3,481
    Quote Originally Posted by Policy Limits View Post
    The only obscure spot (other than hood release) is where they put the gas tank button. I went insane trying to find that thing in my first one when I needed fuel.

    I ran a Web search & the blank screen does appear to plague other models in the dodge line up. I found one case where a module swap was the fix but in most others the symptom was a one hit wonder.
    I was having issues with my NAV in the Ram. It got lost and didn't know where it was. Had me driving through lakes and fields and whatnot. I was going to pull the fuse to reset it but couldn't find it. Then I thought I would disconnect the battery since I couldn't find the fuse. However another search turned up that the radio could be reset by holding both the volume and tuning knobs in for several seconds until the car's logo pops up. This basically reboots the radio. After doing this the NAV returned to normal about a minute after the radio rebooted. I don't know if this procedure might work on a blank screen issue but might be worth a try.
    2017 ACR/TA in 2014 TA Header Orange, #4 of 10.
    2008 Vert in Viper Bright Blue with silver stripes.
    2014 GTS in white with gunmetal stripes. I'm also one of the original 100's

  10. #10
    Good information.

    Thanks.
    #6 of 11 Roanoke Special Edition ACR Extreme

  11. #11
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    223
    The fuse is in the trunk. Its an in-line fuse and it is connected to one of the smaller gauge wires that is bolted to the positive terminal. I believe it is labeled "Radio".
    2014 White TA #7
    2016 TA2.0/GTSR clone

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Policy Limits View Post
    My 8.4 screen was blank on start up the other day. I killed the ignition & restarted and the screen fired right back up in the ordinary course. I have driven the car several times since and the issue never returned. Probably a random glitch but I'm wondering if anyone knows the fuse # for the 8.4?
    Mine did the same thing last weekend. I turned it off, then restarted and everything was ok.

  13. #13
    Mine started doing the "black screen" issue like 3 years ago. Sometimes takes a couple of minutes to turn back by itself, but lately is taking more time.

  14. #14
    I don't listen to the radio or use nav anyway so could care less as to most of the features. However, I do rely on the rear càmera image while backing out of the garage especially since I need to clear ramps attached to my lift. So Hopefully the glitch is abc-ya. So far so good.
    #6 of 11 Roanoke Special Edition ACR Extreme

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Policy Limits View Post
    I don't listen to the radio or use nav anyway so could care less as to most of the features. However, I do rely on the rear càmera image while backing out of the garage especially since I need to clear ramps attached to my lift. So Hopefully the glitch is abc-ya. So far so good.
    Update - I noticed this is happening after I have my car battery on trickle charge. The black death screen happened again. It wasn't so quick coming back either. It took a couple restarts...not thrilled about this....like you said, its having to rely on the rear camera that's the issue. Anyone else having this issue?

  16. #16
    Fired mine up for the first time in a few weeks. I too sensed sitting on the battery tender too long might have something to do with it so i was plugged in. Fortunately for me everything is in working order. Seems to be an intermitent issue for some & a one hit wonder for others. Lol, Dodge
    #6 of 11 Roanoke Special Edition ACR Extreme

  17. #17
    Regional Membership Director
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Indiana/Kentucky
    Steve-Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3,471
    Policy Limits, you might want to browse through this link:

    https://topclassactions.com/lawsuit-...-is-defective/
    I don't send or receive "PM's" since I prefer DIRECT communication.

  18. #18
    Wow, says every lawyer bone in my body.

    Fortunately this issue never returned on mine.
    #6 of 11 Roanoke Special Edition ACR Extreme

  19. #19
    Enthusiast StrokerAce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    895
    The original radio in my 2018 Ram did the same. It delaminated so got a new one and it did it a few times since. My 2013 Viper has also experienced this once in my ownership.
    2013 GTS
    2018 RAM 1500 4x4
    1999 Camaro SS

  20. #20
    Enthusiast GTS Dean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    New Braunfels, TX
    Posts
    1,631
    My Ram 1500 is a '14, one of our similar fleet vehicles is an '18 Ram. Mine lives outside at home under some big ems and oaks, but spends far more time than the 18 in the hot sun with no shade anywhere. The rest of the time we are under the same carport at work. Both have the ~9" screen. The '18 screen began delaminating a couple months ago - randomly calling 911, occasional black screen, menus finicky. Replacement is backordered. Interestingly, I did not let the make-ready guy pull the installation/shipping protection film off mine. I figured as dusty and hot as it gets, it might save the glass a while longer. I wonder if not having the car outside so that the 3G/sat system can update regularly could be linked to many of the issues the G5 folks are sharing? It's either that, or a different OE screen supplier are in play since I have zero problems on mine with 140k on the odo.
    96 GTS. Viper Days Modified Class. Fresh motor 10-2020!


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •