Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    VOA Member
    since 2015
    Western Reserve
    VenomousOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    85

    Gen ll radio install questions

    I know there are numerous threads on this but from what I saw none of them seem to fit exactly my situation. I am replacing my stock alpine unit with a newer alpine unit. I would much rather tackle this by myself and gain the knowledge than pay someone to do it. I don't mind cutting wires, harnesses, din cable, etc due to the fact that I am planning on keeping my car forever and I don't really need to worry about resale value. With that being said does anyone have a straight forward wiring schematic that would help me wire the new radio? FYI it's a 2000 gts

  2. #2
    VOA Member
    since 2015
    Western Reserve
    VenomousOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    85
    Ok after 12 hrs of contemplating I may just cave and take it in. For the ohio members has anyone ever used Wired Right in North Olmsted?

  3. #3
    V1P3R
    Guest
    I would love to replace my rear speakers and head unit too, but the two places I went tried to tell me that the entire car needed to be re-wired just for the head unit. That was last year, so.....I still have all factory crap.

  4. #4
    Regional Treasurer
    VOA Mamba Member
    since 2013
    Crossroads of America
    BlknBlu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Mopar Garage
    Posts
    3,479
    HPMopars on this site is very good with car audio.

    Bruce
    2009 ACR GTS Blue with Black stripes (1 of 2)
    MoparGarage.net
    Mopar Knights FB page

  5. #5
    Regional President
    VOA Member
    since 2013
    Western Reserve
    Web Site Committee
    01sapphirebob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    The Western Reserve
    Posts
    2,415
    Quote Originally Posted by VenomousOne View Post
    Ok after 12 hrs of contemplating I may just cave and take it in. For the ohio members has anyone ever used Wired Right in North Olmsted?
    Autosound has been around for years and did my dads car. They did a great job. They are in the willoughby area.
    '01 Sapphire RT/10. '08 Snakeskin Green Vert. "H" spokes, Grey/Black interior, Graphite bezels, NAV, Full Belanger exhaust w/ Hi-Flows, ARROW PCM and Quaife rear end with 3.55's. http://www.westernreservevipers.com

  6. #6
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    58
    There is only one person I trust to even touch my car... PM sent
    Last edited by SandViper; 03-20-2015 at 08:32 PM.

  7. #7
    Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    450
    Hopefully you find a good shop! I usually do all my own work when it comes to electronics, but I also work with wires and circuts in my job so it's second nature.

  8. #8
    Enthusiast My98RT10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    935
    It is not a very difficult thing. You just need to fabricate your own DIN adapter for the wires going to your stock amp in the trunk. The power connections can be made easily without cutting any OEM cables. There should be plenty of information on the other side on this...

  9. #9
    VOA Member
    since 2015
    Western Reserve
    VenomousOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    85
    Thanks for the responses but I ended up taking it to wired right in North Olmsted this morning. Not the friendliest guys but they got the job done so I'll give credit where credit is due!



  10. #10
    Enthusiast HPmopars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    174
    Glad it worked out for you, if you were closer I would have installed it for you.
    2002 GTS Yellow with Silver stripes
    Mods done by: MASS MOTORSPORTS Omaha, NE

  11. #11
    Enthusiast goodee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by My98RT10 View Post
    ...fabricate your own DIN adapter...
    Does anyone have specifics on how to build this adapter, and is this all you need for any replacement head unit or does the new head unit have to be a specific type? On previous cars I've always bought the harness adapter that fir the car and specific head unit.

  12. #12
    Enthusiast My98RT10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    935
    The loose cables of the DIN adapter you will have to splice into the harness coming with your new head unit accordingly. Note that the DIN connector is only connecting the head unit with the OEM amp in the trunk. In addition, you will have to connect the OEM power connector to your new HU. This may require additional splicing. This all may sound complicated but it is not. Basically a straight forward job.

  13. #13
    Enthusiast My98RT10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    935
    Here's what the 8 pin DIN adapter looks like. It actually carries the following signals:

    - front left&right (incl. signal ground) -> 3 pins
    - rear left&right (incl. signal ground) -> 3 pins
    - ground -> 1 pin
    - remote -> 1 pin
    Total: 8 Pins

    As you see, I have soldered RCA connectors to the audio signals to easily hook up my Sony aftermarket head unit. The remaining loose cables I have used some other method (don't exactly remember...).



    Here are the connections again for both, the DIN connector and the feed connector, which carries some special signals as well, like for the illumination/dimmer (ILL) and audio volume compensation (AVC).

    Here you should also be aware, that the antenna amplifier gets its power from the stock radio (see ANT). If you replace your radio with an aftermarket one, you want to make sure, that the antenna amp is still provided with power somehow. I had to run a seperate wire from the fuse box to it as my Sony deck does not have a power out for the antenna amp.


  14. #14
    Enthusiast goodee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    52
    Thanks guys. Great info.

  15. #15
    Found this old thread, how hard is it to remove the center bezel, the service manuals indicate that you also need to remove the knee bolsters and instrument bezel?

    thanks

    John


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •