Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Gen 2 Ashtray/Cupholder Project

Hey guys,

Don't post here a ton but thought I would share a project I've been working on.

I'm an engineer, and I have a 3D printer, so I like to design/create cool stuff for our Gen 2 vipers.

Here's something I've been working on for the past few weeks. I've always hated the ashtray in my '97 GTS because it rattles, and I obviously don't smoke in my Viper (or at all for that matter) so it was pointless to me.

Another thing about the Gen 2 we all know, and I sometimes appreciate for its racecar purity, is that our cars do not have a cupholder. This is fine, but sometimes I bring the old ball and chain along for a ride, or I'm on a long Viper cruise or roadtrip to a car show and enjoy having a drink in the car.

I decided to try and remedy both of these above annoyances in one simple drop-in solution.

My goals for the project were:

1) Create a filler for the ashtray that looks cool and doesn't rattle
    2) Create a design where accessories can be added into the ashtray for functional use
    3) Accomplish 1&2 without permanently modifying or damaging the car in any way, shape or form

I know #3 is important to many of us since these cars are getting older by the day and we don't want to ruin or damage anything OEM.

Here's my stock viper:

Here's what I came up with.... I designed it with modularity in mind.

The circles you see are magnets. When you simply want a cool filler for the ashtray, you put in the magnetic Viper logo plate.

Okay, so now for the functional aspect. I designed a cupholder to fit into the insert which can be stored in your center console compartment when you don't need a drink, but can be swapped in seconds.

Cupholder in the closed position. Plenty of room for the passenger

Open. Still ample room for the passenger (I'm 6'3").

Drink safely in position

Plenty of room in the center console!